Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

13599567_1544132278934903_390372235_n

THE MONSTER SHOWED UP AFTER MIDNIGHT.
As they do. But this isn’t the monster Conner’s been expecting, the one from the nightmare he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments., the one with the darkness and the screaming. . . .

This monster is something different, something ancient, something wild. And it wants the truth. 

This is the first piece of work I have read by Patrick Ness and I am so glad it was. His writing is simple but so impactful.

Conner a 13 year old boy trying to make sense of his mother’s terminal illness, the nightmare, his hastily grandmother, the father who was never really a father and the yew tree that visits him at exactly 12:07 trying to uncover the lies he is telling himself.

From the first sentence of this novel I was so entranced in the story. The writing, characters and the artwork all flow together beautifully. I read this book in under 2 hours, it grabs you and refuses to let you go until it breaks your heart.

I found the writing so clever, written from a child perspective so Ness used that to leave out information that a child’s mind would gloss over but you know whats happening you just don’t know everything.

I didn’t think the story would play out the way it did. I honestly didn’t know anything about the story but it was completely different from any other horror or suspenseful story I have read. It was realistic. What was happening could happen to anyone and the way he reacted the other children reacted to him was all realistic which made the story even better.

The artwork was one of my favourite aspects. It wouldn’t of been the same story without it. `After a quick google I found out why the artwork was so familiar! Jim  Kay is the wonderful artist who is currently working on the Illustrated editions of Harry Potter! The minimal colour palette and the use of the negative space is just beautiful.

This is the book you read in the dark, on your own with no distractions in one sitting as you prepare to have your heart ripped out.

I gave this 5/5 stars.

Until the next time I read a book

Follow me on Twitter, Instagram & Goodreads 

 

5 thoughts on “Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

  1. I have been wanting to read this book so damn badly! I’m glad you loved it so much! I’ll need to make sure to read it before I see the movie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

