Currently Reading ~ April

12825211_1428516677163131_1253041674_n

Hello little ones!

So I thought I might hit you up with a Currently reading post for April, since I never stick to my TBR piles I was shocked that I read 3/5  books of my list last month!

So I have seven books, four of which I am in the middle of and are high on the list while the other three might take a back seat. Im prepared for that!

1. City of fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare. 

12968678_1464850400196425_15333078_n
This book is such a slow read, I have read 232 pages and nothing has happened at all. I know with the other three books they have been slower at the start and then all the action is at the end but my god at least things where happening in the beginning of those book. Book 3 was such a step up for me from the previous books but this one feels like we might have taken a few steps back. A little frustrating but I hope to god it picks up soon otherwise I just won’t be able to finish the series!

2. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn. 

This is another slower burning book but at least this one makes sense to be. I have read about 60 pages and so far its really intriguing. Her writing is still very compelling and the way she writes characters is so refreshing. The main character for example is so dislikable and frustrating but she is supposed to be like that, you are not supposed to like her or feel sorry for her. I am really excited to read this one I hoping for good things.

3. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige. 

12968512_1464850353529763_2138220957_n
I started reading this one a while ago and I am about 150 pages into it. I can’t remember why I put this one down but I am sure it was because I got a new book. That happens a lot. I am quite lucky where I am able to pick up book from where I left off, even if it was 2 years since I have last read it. From what I can remember it is a faster read so I might be reading this between the two slower books.

4. And Then There Where None by Agatha Christie 

This is one that I just take to work and read on my lunch break. I have read about 75 pages so far and I am really enjoying it. I don’t think I read many murder mysteries but I am loving this one and Agatha Christie, god damn you can write! It is only 250 pages so it is a quick paced book. I love the set out of the different point of views even though I forget who is who some times but hopefully going to finish this one soon!

5. Men Explain Things To Me by Rebecca Solnit 

12969265_1464850373529761_1770330120_n

This book is tiny. It is a collection of nine essays about feminism. I am not sure if it is just feminism or there are other topics that are written about. This is going to be on that I read here and there, I am not going to be sitting down and reading all nine essays. My brain might explode. I have heard amazing this about this collection and I haven’t read non fiction in forever so I am pretty glad I picked this one up!

6. The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare & others. 

This is going to be another one I will flick through through the month. Magnus is favourite character in The Mortal Instruments series so I am so glad I picked this one up last month! I have already read, What Really Happened In Peru, The Course of True Love (And First Dates) and then I spoiled myself by reading The Voicemail Of Magnus Bane. I am so annoyed I read that last one! But I am excited to read about Magnus’ adventures!

7. The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson. 

12966082_1464850296863102_432068372_n
I cam scared of this book. Its a massive 650 pages and the writing is tiny and its so daunting! However I really want to read it and I am determined to read bigger books that I am excited to read no matter how much they scare me! I have heard nothing but amazing things about this series and I really want to get into a high fantasy series so here I go!

So what are you planning to read this month? Any of these ones I have mentioned?

 

Until the next time I read a book

Find me on Twitter

Add me on Goodreads &

Follow me on instagram: chelsies_book_addiction

Chelsie xx

 

 

6 thoughts on “Currently Reading ~ April

  1. I haven’t read Dorothy Must Die because though I’ve heard great things about it the rest of the series seems to be getting mixed reviews. Be sure to tell me what you think of it though!
    I’m scared of every book that’s over 550 pages because it’s either going to be really boring or an emotional adventure 😛

    Like

      • I kept seeing it around because the third book came out is year I think and I realised you either love the series or think it’s meh. I’m glad your enjoying it though!
        And yes! But sometimes if the book is good I spend more time reading it, so I actually finish it quicker then a 300 page book😅

        Like

      • The first book is good so far. I have been a while since I started it but it’s easy enough to jump back on the bike.
        Yeah that happens like I never want to put this book down there are too many things happening!!

        Like

  2. Men Explain Things To Me sounds like it could be really awesome – I think I’ll check that one out!
    And the Bane Chronicles sound pretty interesting too… Magnus is probably my favourite too!
    I’ll probably be catching up on ARCs and continuing Throne of Glass!

    Like

    • Yes it is such a good book. I can’t read all of them at once just because the topics are so heavy but the way she writes her opinions is brilliant! The ever growing TBR pile can be so daunting 😦 Throne of glass is so fantastic! I hope you enjoy it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

