Book review ~ Illuminae

Hello little munchkins,

So I am supposed to be fast asleep ready for a early start at work tomorrow but instead I am going to write my review on Illuminae.

23395680ILLUMINAE BY AMIE KAUFMAN & JAY KRISTOFF 

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.
This afternoon, her planet was invaded.
The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

Taken from Goodreads 

Now I had such preconceived notions about this book when it first came out, everyone and their mother was raving about this book and when that usually happens I tend to take a step back wait for the negative to flood the gates in a few weeks. Well that never happened, at all. I haven’t seen a bad review other than “Science fiction just isn’t my jam”, which is totally understandable.

Caution if you are the 1 of 12 people who haven’t read this book I might spoil this book!!

Plot

This plot is crazy, crazy and fantastic! There are so many twists and turns and the suspense was so intense. During the last 100 pages of the book I was sIMG_4593itting on the edge of the couch in distraught. Even though it’s set in a futuristic setting and it has crazy plot points like artificial intelligence and zombie like viruses, and ship who is threaten to kill them at any moment exists, it all seems feasible and real. The threats seem real and like they will have a huge impact in the story.

I can’t tell you how many books I have read where the threat didn’t feel like a real threat and like it was only there as a plot point, its really refreshing to read something like this. It has been a while since I have been sucked into a story as much as I did this one. Everything the characters where feeling and dealing with, I could empathise with them. All of this comes down to the writing!

Characters

I will admit I cried during this book, yes the characters made me cry so hard. I won’t spoil it for you but I had to put the book down and take a moment.

Lets talk Kady, I loved Kady so much,she was such a real character. She had some great strengths but also some realistic weaknesses. I mean the stuff she went through, she deserved to cry, to geIMG_4433t angry and take it out on other people. You could emphasise with her and I could definitely see so many of my traits in her which made it so much easier to feel for her.

Ezra! Ezra was great, from the first interaction with him to how he communicated with Kady the entire time through IM. Like Kady, he had strengths and weaknesses that balanced each other out and made sense. The romance seemed real and they way they interacted it very much felt like how two teenagers would talk to each other. Which I appreciated!

 Writing 

The writing in
this book is my favourite thing. So the entire thing is a book full of hacked documents. From interviews, security footage, instant messaging, emails, logbooks, reports, anything really. At first when I heard about this, I was hesitant. I have read books where they have tried a new format before and most times it doesn’t work. This time it is amazing! The flow and the structure works perfectly. I absolutely adored the format in this book. It blew my mind that two people could pull this off they way they did

Also the writing style flowed and didn’t waver at all. I still can’t tell who wrote what and when but all the characters had their own voices and speaking patterns. I find that fantastic because it doesn’t interrupt the flow (I need a new word) of the reading and story line.

Even if you don’t particularly enjoy the science fiction genre I still urge you to check this book out if you haven’t already. I adored this book!

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars!

Until the next time I read a book

Find me on Twitter

Add me on Goodreads &

Follow me on instagram: chelsies_book_addiction

Chelsie xxx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Book review ~ Illuminae

  1. Pingback: March Book Haul | Chelsie's Book Addiction

  2. Pingback: Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award – The Book Wench

Leave a Reply

