THE OPPOSITE OF LONELINESS – REVIEW

25442829

 

Marina Keegan’s star was on the rise when she graduated from Yale in May 2012. She had a play that was to be produced at the New York International Fringe Festival and a job waiting for her at the New Yorker. Tragically, five days after graduation, Marina died in a car crash.
Taken from Goodreads 

 

 

Putting my thoughts about this book has been very difficult, this book is a very emotional and raw book. And that is before you start reading her writing.

The book starts with a Foreword from one of her Professors; Anne Fadiman. I think this was a wise decision to make as hearing from a parent or sibling or even her boyfriend it could of came off as biased. Hearing from her Professor how she died and how this effected everyone around her, I found really heart wrenching.  She creates this image of a young woman who was so passionate about writing and creating.

Thats when I knew this book was going to break my heart.

My heart actually broke when I read the essay “The Opposite of Loneliness” which was the next chapter of the book. I was off to a great start.

The essay that she read at her graduation at Yale focusing on how young and free they really are and how she is excited to start the beginning of the rest of her life. She talks about how she plans to still have fun and throw parties as she grows old, how she doesn’t want any regrets to look back on. No ‘what ifs’ or ‘should haves’. At this point I am crying.

IMG_8331

As I was reading this I had this overwhelming feeling of ‘This isn’t fair’. A person who is so young and so full of passion and willingness to share her creations, its not fair. Its not fair that she didn’t get to she herself become the author that she is, she didn’t get to experience how her writing would of touched so many people*. Its not fair that she doesn’t get to continue doing the thing that brought her so much joy.

This book struck a cord for me. It reinstalled in me that life is very fragile and you have no idea what is going to come around the corner, but also that you should believe in your dreams, do what you love to do. 

*I know some people probably think that the only reason this book got so much hype and got to so many people was because she died but I honestly believe that she would of touched so many people with her writing, not through this book but one of her own creation.

I am not going to go through every story cause thats ridiculous, but I am going to give you my top favourites.

Fiction
Reading aloud. Sclerotherapy.

Non-fiction
Stability in motion. Why we care about whales. Putting the “fun” back in Eschatology. he Opposite of Loneliness.

Five Stars 

Until the next time I read a book

Find me on Twitter

Add me on Goodreads &

Follow me on instagram: chelsies_book_addiction

Chelsie xxx

 

9 thoughts on “THE OPPOSITE OF LONELINESS – REVIEW

  1. I loved this review and its so clear that this book affected you that now I also want to read and experience the amazingness and the heartbreak. I hadn’t heard of this book (I do live under a rock, lol) and I am so thankful to you for this review and putting it under my radar!! ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice review! This is one of my favourites of 2015. Read it because of Emma Watson 🙂 I wasn’t a big fan of her short stories but her writing style was amazing. My favourite was her opposite of loneliness essay 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! Yeah I found her essays much more enjoyable than her short stories. Not to say they were bad, i mean the writing was beautiful throughout the books but I just found the essays more entertaining/interesting.
      Yeah that was a fantastic introduction to the book and her works

      Like

  3. Pingback: BI-MONTHLY WRAP UP | Chelsie's Book Addiction

Leave a Reply

