JANUARY FAVOURITES ~ PART ONE

Hello there!

For 12 days I have been away, and I might have left this empty for a little while because I didn’t prepare anything to post while I was gone. Whoops.e

This post is going to be a little cliché and probably over done but I am okay with that, so I am doing my:

JANUARY FAVOURITES

There are 4 categories: Books, Beauty, media and travel.

BOOKS

IMG_8316

This month I didn’t read much as I only read 5 books, but what I did read, I really loved.

The Assassin’s Blade by Sara J. Mass

Even though I read this after the second book in the series and I already knew a lot of the stories ending, I still loved this and it broke my heart so much. I felt as though we learnt a lot in this prequel, especially about Selena and why she is like she is. And of course Sam.

My favourite stories where ‘The Assassin and the Pirate lord” and “The Assassin and the Desert”. Although I loved all of the.
5/5

The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

IMG_8331


This book was wonderful and so depressing. I am in the middle of writing a review of this book but it a collection of short stories ad essays written by a girl who graduated Yale university and five days later was killed in a car accident.

As you read this book you realise how much passion she had for writing and how amazing her writing was, and with that I got so overwhelmingly sad at the fact that this women would never get to see she herself become this amazing author that she is.

My favourite stories and essays include; Reading Aloud, Sclerotherapy , Stability in motion, Why we care about whales, Putting the “fun” back in Eschatology and of course The Opposite of Loneliness.
5/5

George by Alex Gino

IMG_8335
While I was away I bought some books, shock horror! One of these books was “George” by Alex Gino, and again I am writing a review about this book so I wont say too much!

This is a middle grade book focused around a 10-year-old transgender girl. This book is so important for so many reasons, it normalises the idea of transgendered children, it separates the gender identity from sexuality, it helps explain these things to children as well as adults, it shows the struggle young children going through this realisation, and what they go through and how parents can react so quickly and negatively.

This book is important and I urge everyone to read it.
5/5

 

BEAUTY

Now I used to run a beauty blog, as well as working a beauty department, funnily enough and even though I have a new job and I don’t touch that blog anymore, I still love beauty items!

 

Stila bronzer

IMG_8326
Now I love stila, and I have a small palette with one of their bronzers in there and unfortunately it has hit pan! I couldn’t find an exact match for that one but I found this beauty! Again I love the formula and the colour is perfect and its so big so hopefully I wont run out soon!

 

Revlon Matte Balm in the shade: Fiery Flamboyant

Now I already own so many of these and I love the formula and the way they go on, plus the smell like peppermint! While I was away I found this gorgeous plum colour that I haven’t seen before in Australia, I love it so much, I think I wore it every day!


Jo Malone Cologne

Oh my good lord, I shouldn’t have purchased this to be quite honest but I had tIMG_8324old myself that I could buy one ‘luxury’ item while I was away and boy this is what I call luxury! I have heard of Jo Malone, and have heard amazing reviews but its not big in Australia at all, in fact I think the only store is in Sydney.

So I went into this beautiful store and was spraying some of them,loving them all. I finally found one that I loved so much; Wood sage & Sea salt. This not normally the scent for me, I go for more floral scents not the woody type.

The service in the store was wonderful, the presentation of the product was perfect and I couldn’t have asked for a better experience.

 

MEDIA

 I have a new show I have just gotten into! How to get away with murder. My kind of show really. I have just gotten half way through and I am loving it so far!

Pretty much it is about a group of law students who are working with their professor on a whole series of cases, but during the episodes there are flash forwards to them committing a murder themselves and as the season goes on you find out more about what’s going to happen.

There is a bunch of diverse characters in this show and I am absolutely loving it, I just hope season 3 comes out soon!

Now I said there were four categories but I wrote the next one and it ended up being 3 pages long, so a part two will be coming out soon enough!

Until the next time I read a book

Find me on Twitter

Add me on Goodreads &

Follow me on instagram: chelsies_book_addiction

Chelsie xxx

 

 

2 thoughts on “JANUARY FAVOURITES ~ PART ONE

Leave a Reply

